top of page

Meet the Signs: Capricorn & Aquarius

Updated: Oct 1, 2023

by Madam Asteria

CAPRICORN; Sun approx. December 22 - January 19

Capricorn is the 10th sign in the Zodiac, and is thus associated with the tenth house. The tenth house rules career and profession, contribution to society, social standing, reputation, material success, and as such, Capricorns are driven by these motivations. It is ruled by the planet Saturn, and is an Earth sign (similar to Tarus and Virgo). Saturn brings structure and meaning to our world, reminding us of our boundaries, responsibilities and commitments; making us aware of the need for self-control. It is a cardinal sign, meaning that it is aligned at the beginning of the solar season, in this case, winter.

Capricorn is anatomically associated with the knee, bones and the skeleton. Lead is the metal associated with this sign, signifying durability, stability, strength and endurance. It is also associated with the gemstones amber, representing wisdom and clarity, and onyx, representing discipline, focus and self-control. The colors for this sign are purple and brown, symbolizing steadfastness, dependability and simplicity. Peonies, representing consideration, carefulness and pondering, and the Lotus, representing patience and faithfulness, are the flowers of Capricorn.

Symbol: Goat, specifically Mountain Goats that find security in cliffs and heights, the highest places that can be climbed slowly but surely. Associated with the strength of character. In ancient times, it was associated with the sea goat.

Keywords: tenacious, conservative, resourceful, disciplined, wise, ambitious, prudent, constant.

AQUARIUS; Sun approx. January 20 - February 18

A fixed sign, aka, falling in the middle of the Winter solar season, Aquarius is the 11th Zodiac sign. It is ruled by Uranus, a planet of enlightenment, progressiveness, objectivity, novelty, ingenuity, and the spark of intuition spurring invention. Similarly to Gemini and Libra, Aquarius is an air sign, who are often characterized as intellectual, detached, and fair-minded. As the 11th sign, Aquarius is associated with the 11th house, which rules acquaintances, friends, groups, organizations, hopes, wishes, personal goals, inner purpose and humanity.

Aquarius is associated with the ankles, shins and circulation. Uranium, with shape-shifting and awakening properties, is the metal of this sign. The gemstones of Aquarius are garnet, which assits with spiritual grounding, and amethyst, which has healing properties. The colors associated with this sign are blues, especially sky blue, electric blue, and ultramarine, which symbolize loyalty and trust. The orchid, symbolizing refinement, unusualness, and fertility, and gladiolus, symbolizing integrity and strength of character are the flowers of Aquarius. The Aquarius constellation is found in the Sea region of the sky, Beta Aquarii being its brightest star.

Symbol: The Water Bearer, symbolically and eternally giving life and spiritual fool to the world. The water from the vessel washes away the past, leaving room for a fresh start. As such, Aquarians are forward-looking and growth-oriented, while also steadfast and resilient.

Keywords: individualistic, assertive, independent, humanitarian, inventive, original, eccentric, opinionated, intellectual, idealistic, cool, friendly, detached.


Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page